2017 London Football Awards: Arsenal players nominated at the prestigious footballing event


Sanchez, Bellerin, Iwobi, Nobbs and Carter nominated at the prestigious footballing event.

Arsenal players Alexis Sanchez, Alex Iwobi, Hector Bellerin, Jordan Nobbs and Danielle Carter are amongst those who have scored a nomination at this year’s London Football Awards. The winners will be announced at the prestigious event, hosted by BBC presenter Gary Lineker OBE, at London’s Battersea Evolution on March 2, 2017.

In its third year, the London Football Awards, sponsored by Toscafund, raises funds for former Arsenal goalkeeper and TV presenter, Bob Wilson OBE and his wife, Megs’ charity, Willow – the only national charity working with seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 to fulfil uplifting and unforgettable Special Days.

The five Arsenal stars are nominated for three out of eight awards. Alexis Sanchez is up for Premier League Player of the Year. Hecor Bellerin and Alex Iwobi have both been nominated for London Young Player of the Year (under-23) with Jordan Nobbs and Danielle Carter both in the running for London Woman’s Player of the Year.

Other awards include EFL Player of the Year, London Manager of the Year, London Goalkeeper of the Year, London Community Project of the Year and Outstanding Contribution to London Football.

Past Arsenal winners are: Petr Cech (Goalkeeper of the Year 2016) and Arsene Wenger (Outstanding Contribution to a London Club Award 2015)

Nominees and winners of the awards have been selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, The Times, Evening Standard and talkSPORT.

The London Football Awards will recognise the very best of London football from the following 14 clubs: Arsenal, Barnet, Brentford, Charlton, Chelsea, Crystal Palace, Fulham, Leyton Orient, Millwall, QPR, Tottenham, Watford, West Ham and Wimbledon.